Coopertown and Pleasant View, TN, circa 1900 photos

For those of you that have family from the Coopertown & Pleasant View, Tennessee area, your ancestors might be in these photos. My great grandfather, Jesse James Head, son of William Thomas Head, was born in 1881 and lived in Coopertown. He married Lula Mai Lee (1889-1956), also of Coopertown. These photos were passed to me from my grandmother, Thelma Head Bowie, the daughter of Jesse and Lula Mae Head.

I am posting some of the photos I have that are groups of people that are unidentified… These might be Bidwells, Lees, Millers, Holmes, Hydes, Yorks, Shaws, etc., and was probably circa 1895-1900?

This photo has Jesse James Head pointed out, to his right is Lula Mae Lee, to her right is her first cousin Turner Lee (he was identified by R. David Lee), so who are the two in front?

Lula Mai Lee Head

Lula Mai Lee headshot

Unidentified Coopertown or Pleasant View group. Ralph Felts thought a few of the men looked like Bidwells. The one with the line is Jesse James Head and I think that’s Lula Lee next to him.

Ralph Felts recognized his parents in the below picture of Highland Institute School in Pleasant View, Tennessee… Jesse James Head attended there so I’m sure he’s in there somewhere.

Highland Institute, Pleasant View, Tennessee

Highland Institute, Pleasant View, Tennessee

Jesse James Head Highland Institute report card

Lula Mai Lee and group

Lula Mai Lee and ?

This fellow driving the buggy is also in the picture above in the back row. That’s all for now! Let me know if you know any of the people in the photos so I can share

Categories: Family History: HEAD, Coopertown, Tennessee | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Coopertown and Pleasant View, TN, circa 1900 photos

  1. Lavon Springer

    thanks Ralph, I’ll be interested to see where this leads.

  2. I always love old photos.. my HOLMES are from that area, always looking for photos, information on them. Ralph.. please email me, would like to chat,,, Keri
    sitkasky at m s n dot co m and thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

